Practicing Christian

My journey to getting it right….

Not to Forget–POP Reflection

on January 29, 2012

The following musings are based on my Portals of Prayer devotion for today, Saturday, January 28, 2012. Associated readings are Micah 7:18-19 and Psalm 103

Who is a God like you,
who pardons sin and forgives the transgression
of the remnant of his inheritance?
You do not stay angry forever
but delight to show mercy.
You will again have compassion on us;
you will tread our sins underfoot
and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.

I know all too well about throwing past sins into the sea of forgetfulness and seeing them wash up like those proverbial starfish on the shores of Rehash. I am faced daily with the consequences of many bad choices and cannot help to keep picking those past sins back up. Unlike the tale of the starfish though, I keep putting them in my backpack and carrying them around instead of throwing them back out to sea. In my head, I know that I have been forgiven….and yet my stubborn brain and spirit refuse to accept the message and lighten the load. It tends to be hard to embrace the Father’s mercy when the human forgiveness is slow or less obvious in coming, and since those are the reactions you can see more readily it makes it easier to pick up that heavy bag instead of lightening the load and moving forward. When do we see God’s forgiveness as enough? This will always be a work in progress for me, but maybe if I focus on the progress and not the work, those starfish will stay in the ocean.

Leave a Reply

