Practicing Christian

My journey to getting it right….

Bummer Lamb – Sheila Walsh

on November 8, 2012

A note I got from my friend Miriam….thought I’d share it with you all….

I heard this story at church from a woman who had just returned from a Women of Faith Conference and thought I’d share it.Shelia is Shelia Walsh

Sheila told a story about her native Scotland and how things work with sheepfarmers.

She said that sometimes, a mama sheep would reject one of her little lambs.

If they leave the lamb in the pasture with the mother, she will kick it and won’t feed it and ultimately, it dies.

If the farmer goes into the field and attempts to feed it, it will not accept the food.

The only way to help this little bummer lamb, as they are called, is for the farmer to bring it into his house, away from the mother,and nurse it to health.

It sleeps by the fireplace to keep warm and cuddles against the farmer’s chest to warm, feel the heartbeat and to drink from a bottle.

It becomes a member of the family, so to speak,living among the farmer’s family for a while.

Once it is big and strong enough to go back out to the pasture, the farmer returns it to the flock.

But even years later, when the farmer comes out to call the sheep to him, the bummer lamb runs to greet him faster

than all the other lambs because he/she knows the farmer’s voice.

The other lambs recognize that this farmer will feed them, but the bummer lamb understands the farmer’s love and care on a different level.

He really ‘gets it’.

It’s the same way with God. It takes a season of brokenness for us to really”get” God’s love for us.

It’s when we are battling addiction, illness, depression,struggling through grief and loss,(or a million other things)

that we understand God the most.

When we cry out and beg for His mercy, we draw nearer to Him than we do at any other time in our life.

It is then that we, the bummer lamb, really “get” our shepherd.

We learn to hear His voice above all the other noises of life because we’ve sat in His lap and

curled up against His chest and have felt His arms around us.

John 10:14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me

John 10:

27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand.

Thank you for sharing Sheila

3 responses to “Bummer Lamb – Sheila Walsh

  1. Maria Lynn says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Pam McCain says:

    It is a beautiful illustration of our Lords love!

  3. Pam McCain says:

    I love sharing this story with a friend who’s struggling to know our God, our father…

Leave a Reply

